The professional international jury of the second edition of the Brussels Architecture Prize consists of renowned foreign architects and key figures from the international world of architecture with a connection to (or love for) Brussels. The jury makes the selections in two stages:

  • The jury first makes the preselection and then reduces the number of submissions to maximum six nominated projects per category, except for the Lifetime Achievement Award. The latter is proposed by the scientific committee.
  • The jury then selects the four winners from among the nominees, after a visit in the presence of the architects.
© Marzena Skubatz


Markus Bader is a founding member of Raumlabor and professor at the institute for architecture and urban transformation of the Berlin University of the Arts. Raumlabor is a collective of architects working at the intersection of architecture, city planning, art and urban intervention. In various forms, Raumlabor explores what roles architecture and architects can play in the twenty-first century. Seeing architecture as a form of agency rather than a collection of objects, they have experimented with forms of city-making based around diverse forms of knowledge exchange: assembling, constructing, baking, recycling, dancing and more. All of which took place within schools, workshops and other educational formats. These are open, learning-by-doing pedagogies in collaborative settings and testing spaces for cooperative urban futures. 

© Mélissa Dyminat


Meriem Chabani is an architect, urban planner and founding partner at New South. Her international practice prioritizes spaces for vulnerable bodies and territories in tension. She applies the words of bell hooks, putting the margin at the center. By questioning power dynamics and stakeholder relations, her projects include in-depth work on human practices to inform spatial resolution. She currently teaches at the Ecole Nationale Supérieure d’Architecture Paris Malaquais (FR), Royal College of Arts (UK) and HEAD Geneva (CH). Since 2019, she serves as an expert on affordable housing and inclusive cities for the French delegation at the World Urban Forum. Her work has been showcased at a number of international architecture Biennials, including Venice, Istanbul, Tirana, Oslo and Lagos. In 2020 Meriem won a Europe 40 under 40 award from The European Centre for Architecture and The Chicago Athenaeum.

© Bas Czerwinski


Job Floris is an architect and co-founder of Monadnock. He graduated at the Rotterdam Academy for Architecture and Urbanism as architect, after his study at the Academy of fine arts Sint-Joost, Breda. After his internship at Christian Kieckens Architects (BE), Floris worked at Rapp+Rapp from 2000 to 2006. Floris was part of the editorial board of OASE Journal for Architecture from 2008 till 2018 and is involved in architecture education since 2006. From 2010 till 2018 as head of the Master’s degree course Architecture at the Rotterdam Academy for Architecture and Urbanism. Subsequently as guest professor in various universities: TU Karlsruhe KIT, KU Leuven/Ghent, TU Graz, EPFL-ENAC, Harvard GSD and TU Dresden. A motive is exploring the urban conditions of the city, through buildings, interiors and objects; exploring key themes such as contemporaneity and tradition, convention and banality. Currently, the practice of Monadnock works on projects in The Netherlands, Belgium and Germany.

© Jasmin Schuller


Kaye Geipel is an architectural critic, urban planner and curator in Berlin and Brussels.  Editor of the weekly architectural journal Bauwelt since 1995. Furthermore he worked as a deputy editor-in-chief of the journals Bauwelt and Stadtbauwelt between 2010 and 2022 where he was curator of the annual international Bauwelt conferences on European urbanism and urban development strategies. Besides this he also took part as a jury member of numerous architecture and urban planning awards and competitions, including the ‘Grand Prix de l’Urbanisme’ in France. Kaye Geipel is also Vice-president of Europan Germany and member of the elective board of the Schelling Foundation Prize for architectural theory. Since 2023 he is working as co-editor of Bauwelt Fundamente, the book series of Birkhäuser Verlag, which has published important texts on architectural theory and urban development since 1963.  

© Volker Renner


Dorte Mandrup is a Danish architect who founded her studio Dorte Mandrup Arkitekter A/S in 1999. Studies in both sculpture and natural sciences have influenced her approach, which is ‘hands-on’, materialising in deep, contextual analysis and explorative prototyping. Her studio employs an artistic, humanistic, and scientific approach to create generous designs that are pushing the boundaries of form and materiality. With projects like The Whale, the Wadden Sea Centre, and Ilulissat Icefjord Centre, she is internationally recognised for creating architecture in synergy with the context. Dorte is known for her commitment to the development of the architectural practice. She headlined La Biennale de Venezia in 2018, chaired the Mies van der Rohe Award in 2019, is Vice Chairman of the board of Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, member of the architecture section in Akademi der Künste, Honorary Professor at the Royal Danish Academy of Architecture and visiting professor at Accademia de Architettura de Mendrisio in Switzerland.

© Alex Garcia


Eva Prats graduated as an architect from the School of Architecture of Barcelona (U.P.C.) in 1992. She furthermore received a cum laude doctoral degree from the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology RMIT, 2019. She established Flores & Prats in 1998 with partner Ricardo Flores, an architecture studio that combines design and constructive practice with an intense academic activity. She has received several national and international awards, including the nomination for the Women in Architecture 2019, awarded by the British magazines The Architectural Review and Architects’ Journal. In addition to her professional practice, Eva is actively involved in the academic world. She is currently Professor at the Accademia di Architettura di Mendrisio, and Associate Professor at ETSA in Barcelona.

Scientific committee

The jury is elected by the scientific committee, which consists of the following persons:

  • Kristiaan Borret (Bouwmeester/ Maître Architecte, Brussels Capital-Region),
  • Yves Schoonjans (Dean of Architecture department, Hogeschool voor Wetenschap & Kunst, Sint-Lucas, KU Leuven)
  • Audrey Contesse (Director of the ICA, Institut Culturel d’Architecture Wallonie-Bruxelles),
  • Nikolaus Hirsch (Artistic director of the CIVA – Architecture, Paysage, Urbanisme Bruxelles),
  • Marcelle Rabinowicz (Dean of the Architecture Faculty, ULB La Cambre-Horta),
  • Typhaine Moogin (Cellule Architecture – Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles).
  • Bety Waknine and Guy Condé-Reis (Urban.Brussels)
  • Lara Molino and Lisa De Visscher (A+ Architecture in Belgium)